International Art Medal Federation
Fédération Internationale de la Médaille d'Art
Home | FIDEM News | Medal News | Shop |Membership| Contact | Archives | Database of Exhibitions



international awards

American Medal of the Year Award 2021

The American Medallic Sculptors Association (AMSA) has announced that Jeanne Stevens-Sollman has won the 2021 American Medal of the Year (AMY) award for her powerful work honoring George Floyd.

Following the tragic shootings of Anton Rose, Ahmaud Arbery, Elijah McClain, Breanna Taylor and other Blacks, when George Floyd’s life was snuffed out by a white police officer in May, 2020, Jeanne Stevens-Sollman was overwhelmed, asking herself “Why?  What can I do??”

Describing her inspiration, Ms. Stevens-Sollman writes: “I am an artist, working in my studio, listening to the news of these distance killings in my country that is supposed to be the land of the free.  What can I do?  I am a sculptor grieving for the injustice in my country.  I am a pacificist trying to deal with issues that are difficult to understand.  What can I do? As an artist I can try to raise awareness of the inequality of these events, to raise the level of consciousness of what people of color face on a daily basis.

As an emotional release for me, George Floyd, Black Lives Matter was created.  Physically putting this story into people’s hands helped me fight the anger and helplessness I was feeling at the time. Hopefully, this medal will help our citizens to be moved to find justice, to erase hate, to see more clearly that we need to live together in harmony and peace ― and to achieve justice for all.”

Jeanne Stevens-Sollman’s American Medal of the Year features a portrait of George Floyd, along with his name, the date of his death “5•25•2020,” his dying words “I CAN’T BREATH,” and “8 46,” indicating the estimated time duration of 8 minutes 46 seconds that an officer had his knee on Floyd's neck. The reverse design depicts three raised fists and the inscription “NO JUSTICE NO PEACE.” This slogan has been used by those protesting violence against African Americans by whites; its origin can be traced back to 1986, following the murder of Michael Griffith at the hands of a mob of white youths.

Ms. Stevens-Sollman is contributing an example of her George Floyd medal to the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of African American History and Culture. And a limited edition of no more than 25 cast bronze examples of the large 95mm art medal can be ordered from the artist. The artist can be contacted at

Mel Wacks, Chair of the AMY Committee, revealed that “The voting was extremely close. Jeanne’s outstanding medal beat out the other two finalists by only a single vote.” The runner-ups both feature strong personalities ― Congressman and civil rights leader John Lewis by Jim Licaretz and poet Charles Bukowski by Eugene Daub.

Jim Licaretz, formerly sculptor and engraver at the U.S. Mint, created a very high relief medal portraying Rep. John Lewis, whose quote “Never, ever be afraid to make some noise and get in good trouble, necessary trouble” and dates (1940-2020) are featured on the reverse.

When Lewis was elected to Congress in 1986, one of his first bills was the creation of a national museum to chronicle the history, culture, and successes of Black Americans. The culmination of this bill was passed in 2003 and opened in 2016 as the National Museum of African American History and Culture. And so, it is appropriate, that Licaretz will contribute one of the John Lewis medals to this museum. Collectors will be able to get one of no more than 50 John Lewis 88mm. medals made from bonded bronze. The artist can be contacted at

Eugene Daub, whose statue of Rosa Parks in the National Statuary Hall in the U.S. Capitol was attended by President Obama, created the other AMY runner-up medal, dedicated to poet Charles Bukowski. The reverse is an extract from Bukowski’s poem How Is Your Heart:

“I always had this certain
I wouldn't call it
it was more of an inner
that settled for
whatever was occurring …
and to walk across the floor
to an old dresser with a
cracked mirror-
see myself, ugly,
grinning at it all.
what matters most is
how well you
walk through the

All of the profits from the sale of these medals will go to the San Pedro Historical Society to help pay for a statue of long-time resident Charles Bukowski, that will also be designed by Daub. The artist can be contacted at

All 38 AMY entries will be pictured in the next full color issue of AMSA’s Members Exchange. Art medal collectors and designers are invited to join the American Medallic Sculpture Association at

Prepared by Mel Wacks NLG


American Medal of the Year Award 2019

The American Medallic Sculpture Association (AMSA) is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2019 American Medal of the Year (AMY) award is “Breakout” by Michael Meszaros.

Three additional medals were deemed worthy of Honorable Mention:

Hedy Lamarr,” for the Jewish-American Hall of Fame, by Eugene Daub,

Robin Salmon, Curator of Sculpture at Brookgreen Gardens" by Dan Kraus, and

False Announcement” (that Harriet Tubman would replace Alexander Hamilton on $20 bills) by Art Ellis.

For information about availability and prices, please contact:
Michael Meszaros at,
Eugene Daub at,
Dan Kraus at, and
Art Ellis at

A record number of 48 medals were submitted for the 2019 AMY award, according to jury chairperson, Mel Wacks.

All American medalists are welcome to participate in the AMY Award competition, as well as all AMSA members throughout the world. All of the entries can be viewed at Medalists as well as collectors can join AMSA.

For more information


The J. SanFord saltus award - new york (usa)

more information